Special Statement to the Nation by President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

first_imgMy fellow Liberians:Even as we continue to combat the Ebola virus and strive to achieve our national objective of zero-new-cases by Christmas, we must also attend to what will be a difficult job of recovery – recovery to the health care system so that we deliver health care services all across the country and are better prepared for any epidemic of the size and scale of Ebola; recovery to the economy so that we are repositioned to produce more opportunities and afford decent and better living conditions for all our people; recovery to governance so that notwithstanding the superficial differences which haunt the body politic, we can still remain enjoined behind the common purpose of national healing and reconstruction.This requires a team that is adaptable, responsive, disciplined, loyal, and focused – a team that is understanding of the prevailing challenges, and are resolved to respond by taking appropriate risks to get things done on time. It is my job to continuously vet and ready such a team for the challenges we currently face and those that lie ahead.And so today, I announce a number of changes to the Executive Branch of the Government. A few are transferred or reassigned, signifying our recognition of their capabilities and performance.  Others are dropped from where they served, but will be given appropriate opportunities to continue to serve the country. I am deeply grateful for the services and contribution of all of those we who have served or continue to serve.We are not short on expectation that going forward, each working day – indeed each working hour – will be spent not only on catching up and continuing with the transformational agenda of the country but also to exploring creative new approaches by which we deliver on the agenda within the limited time of our stewardship.My hope is that this team will take us to the finish line. But make no mistake: As Captain, I will not hesitate to change anyone who fails to meet our expectations.With these remarks, I am pleased to make the following initial appointments, others to follow at a subsequent time: Ministry of Posts and TelecommunicationsMs. Margretta Smith-General – Assistant Minister for Administration(replacing Mr. James Cooper) Ministry of Lands, Mines & EnergyMr. Zack Sharpe, Deputy Minister for Administration Ministry of EducationDr. Elizabeth Davis-Russell, MinisterDr. Nancy Freeman, Deputy Minister for AdministrationMr. Anthony Nimely, Deputy Minister for Planning, Research and Development National AIDS CommissionMs. Candace Eastman, Commissioner(replacing Ms. Wessehdi Sio-Njoh) Ministry of Internal AffairsMs. Gbemie Horace Kollie, Deputy Minister for Operations(replacing Mr. Ranney Jackson) Liberia Broadcasting SystemMr. Ledgerhood Rennie, Director GeneralMr. Patrick Honnah, Deputy Director General for BroadcastingMr. Christopher Sellee, Deputy Director General for Rural Comms Ministry of TransportMr. Bushuben M. Keita – Deputy Minister for Administration Ministry of Commerce & IndustryMr. Cyril Allen, Jr., Deputy Minister for CommerceMr. Mohammed Turay, Assistant Minister for Industry The special word on the change in the Ministry of Health.  Dr. Gwenigale will continue to serve as Advisor until his planned retirement in February.Share this:Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window) Ministry of Youth & SportsMr. Ramses Kumbuyah, Deputy Minister for Administration(replacing Ms. Jacqueline Capehart) Ministry of Health Mr. George Werner, Minister Ministry of Foreign Affairs Dr. Wede Brownell, Deputy Minister for AdministrationMs. Albratha Doe, Assistant Minister for Foreign Affairs Ministry of Public WorksMr. William Gyude Moore, MinisterMr. Roland Giddings, Deputy Minister for Administration Ministry of InformationMr. Andrew Tehmeh, Deputy Minister for Administration(to replace Norris Tweah who moves on to the University of  Liberia) National Investment CommissionMrs. Etmonia David Tarpeh, Chairperson Ministry of Gender, Children & Social ProtectionMrs. Julia Duncan-Cassell, MinisterMr. Peter Roberts, Deputy Minister for AdministrationMrs. Sienne Abdul-Baki, Deputy Minister for GenderMrs. Mardia Martin Wiles, Deputy Minister for Policy, Planning & Technical ServicesMrs. Lydia Sherman, Deputy Minister for Children and Social Protectionlast_img